Warp the Reluctant Assassin reviewed by Leah Dillon aged 10

Leave a comment

warp

Albert Garrick used to be the most celebrated illusionist in the West End, Known as the Great Lombardi, until during one performance, he actually sawed his beautiful assistant in half. Garrick discovered on that night that he enjoyed taking a life almost as much as he enjoyed the delighted applause from the stalls, and so the magician made a new career of assassination. Riley is Garrick’s apprentice and he must pass a test. The rules are kill or be killed. But Riley doesn’t seem to want to follow in his master’s footsteps…

I read the start of this book and I loved the author’s writing style but I am sorry to say that I didn’t finish it because it wasn’t really suitable for me. It kind of freaked me out…

So I guess that means it’s more suitable for teenagers and young adults. Then again, I’m more on the sensitive side so maybe some kids my age would like it, I don’t know. Anyway, the writing is great and the plot seems very interesting so those who the book is suitable for should love it. And after the author’s Artemis Fowl series’ success, you can only expect it to be good!

Advertisements

Smuggler’s Kiss by Marie-Louise Jensen

1 Comment

Image
This is Marie-Louise Jensen’s sixth novel for children. I have read all but one of her previous books and she never disappoints. If you enjoy strong heroines, historical settings and thrilling adventure then you will love her novels. Smuggler’s Kiss delves right into the action with heroine Isabelle about to throw herself into the sea, we don’t learn why until she reveals her story later on. However we do discover that Isabelle is rather a spoiled brat, rescued from the sea by smugglers they contemplate throwing her overboard but despite her haughty attitude she might prove useful after all. Forced to help with smuggling lace from France Isabelle finds admiration for the risk the smugglers take and the dangers they face and more than a passing interest in one smuggler in particular. Will Isabelle take the chance to escape, will she be discovered or will she find that the dangers are worth the risk for the chance of a smuggler’s kiss. If you are a fan of Historical romance then you won’t be able to put this book down. Perfect for fans of Mary Hooper, Eva Ibbotson, Victoria Lamb and Eve Edwards. Suitable for readers 10 and upwards.