I don’t have much feeling towards Valentine’s Day, and the merchandising experience that comes about with it.

Don’t get me wrong, any girl loves to get flowers but I prefer them to be given out of randomness, not obligation. That’s why my boyfriend sent me flowers on Monday the 9th of February. An unremarkable day, but a day made sweeter by the ring of a doorbell.

There are books out there that have stories of love so powerful and moving, that 1) You’d wish that you had written, 2) will make you a bit depressed that you don’t have and 3) that lingers with you in the back of you whenever it flutters a little in the hope or the face of an encounter of the heart.

I’m going to attempt to pull together a post about love stories in Young Adult books that I really loved.

First and foremost. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson is a beautiful love story, but also a story of grief, family and the complicated emotions that come with that. It’s one of the books I will always go back to when I’m having a duvet day or a sick day, even though I have read it about 19 times.

Everyday by David Levithan is a gorgeous love story spanning several lives and personalities. I loved it for its uniqueness and the way the character A was written. It was a bold and beautiful book and I highly recommend it.

Soulmates by Holly Bourne. Now this one I almost don’t want to recommend.. I read it with the addictive thirst that I had thought had only existed for the love story of Twilight (when it first came out). You remember that feeling, where you had to know what happened no matter how bad the plot was or the writing? Soulmates sparked a thirst like that EXCEPT that writing and the plot are NOT bad, in fact they are really great. This book made for very urgent reading, I’ll tell you that much for nothing.

Here is the one you HAVE TO READ and I don’t care if you have exams, food to cook or children to collect. You read this book. Or so help me God.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell is the epitome of all love stories for me. It was almost obscenely romantic in places, so much so that I could barely keep up with how fast I needed the pages to move. This is my one for all recommendation to kindle everything in you.

My most recent love forage in books came from Jandy Nelson again. Her new book I’ll Give You the Sun I really loved. It had everything plus that poetic quirky style of writing that is swiftly becoming the trademark of Jandy Nelson.

That’s it from me, short and sweet. Enjoy the day everyone, Saturday only comes once a week 😉
Lisa…out.

